Skip to content

Dwelling in The Holiest Through the Blood of Jesus

September 3, 2010

“Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way, which he hath consecrated for us, through the veil, that is to say, his flesh; and having an high priest over the house of God; let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for he is faithful that promised)”-Heb. 10:19-23

I often kneel or lie prostrate on the floor when I pray, and in my mind I often picture myself kneeling or prostrating myself before God’s throne in heaven.  Theologically, I know that I am seated in the heavenly places with Christ (Eph. 2:6; Col. 3:3) and my spirit is not limited to time and space. So, spiritually speaking, I have access at all times to heaven itself and the glories that are there in my Heavenly Father’s presence.  God is of course not limited to time or space either and He is with me everywhere I go – comforting me when I’m sad, convicting me when I sin, and enlightening my mind to understand Him more clearly as I study and meditate on His Word and spend time with Him in prayer.  But sometimes I take this all for granted.  I seldom sit and reflect on what an awesome privilege I have to enjoy the healing presence of my Heavenly Father everywhere and at all times.  I was recently reminded of what an amazing blessing God has given to His children that we can rest at all times in His comforting embrace.  Like little chicks can hide in their mother’s wings, we can hide in the shelter of God’s presence, safe in His habitation (Ps. 91:5-10; Matt. 23:37).

The author of Hebrews urges us to come into the presence of God with boldness, with a true heart, in full assurance of faith and without wavering. Wavering means to fluctuate in your mind, to be in doubt.  Why does the author emphasize that we must have full assurance of faith without doubting?  Isn’t it the essence of pride to assume that we can waltz right into God’s presence when we are such sinful creatures?

But this is the very point the author of Hebrews is making.  It’s not our worthiness that grants us access into God’s presence.  We enter by the blood of Jesus (10:19). “We are sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ” (10:10).  “For by one offering he hath perfected for ever them that are sanctified” (10:14).  To doubt that we are cleansed completely by the blood of Christ makes a mockery of His promise and impugns the truthfulness of God’s Word.  We are urged to believe that “He is faithful that promised.”  This is the essence of true faith:  believing what God has promised (Rom. 4:20-25).  The promise is that we can enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus.  We can come right into the very presence of God and remain there… forever.

A godly South African pastor and author from the 19th century, Andrew Murray, offered his reflections on this passage:

What a glorious privilege it is to enter into “The Holiest” and dwell there; to walk all the day in the presence of God. What a rich blessing is poured out there. In “The Holiest” the favour and fellowship of God are enjoyed:-the life and blessing of God are experienced; the power and joy of God are found. Life is spent in “The Holiest” in priestly purity and consecration; there the incense of sweet savour is burned, and sacrifices acceptable to God are offered. It is a Holy life of prayer and blessedness. Under the Old Covenant everything was material, the Sanctuary also was material and local; under the New Covenant everything is spiritual, and the true Sanctuary owes its existence to the power of the Holy Spirit. Through the Holy Spirit a real life in “The Holiest” is possible, and the knowledge that God walks there can be as certain as in the case of the priests of old. The Spirit makes real in our experience the work Jesus has accomplished.

Believer in Jesus Christ, have you liberty to enter, and abide in “The Holiest”? As one who has been redeemed, it is a fitting thing for you to make your home there, and not elsewhere; for Christ cannot, elsewhere, reveal the full power of His redemption. But there, oh! there, He can bless you richly. Oh! understand it then, and let the object of God and of our Lord Jesus be yours also. May it be the one desire of our hearts to enter into “The Holiest,” to live in “The Holiest,” to minister in “The Holiest.” We can confidently expect the Holy Spirit to give us a right conception of the glory of entering into a dwelling in “The Holiest.”

(you can read the whole lovely chapter here:  http://www.worldinvisible.com/library/murray/5f00.0572/5f00.0572.07.htm)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2010 12:36 pm

    Amen!

  2. Martha permalink
    September 6, 2010 2:34 am

    Awe, this blog is lovely, Jessica. Thank you for pointing out to me that I can enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus. Thank you for reminding me that I can walk through the veil that is my flesh and enter God’s throne room in His kingdom. This is the discussion that FOF and I were about to embark on in your blog ”It all happened in a garden…”. We were about to start having the discussion of having a personal relationship with God. I was about to ask FOF if he had been to the kingdom of Heaven in God’s presence at his feet. You see, Jessica, I too kneel or lie prostrate before God’s throne in heaven. Sometimes I wash His feet with my tears. He always takes my sin from me and washes me clean with His blood on the cross. This is the Holy of Holies. This is the pure joy of a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. It is being born again and being baptized in the Holy Spirit that allows us to enter this Holy of Holies, the kingdom of Heaven.

    Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God. John 3:3

    For John truly baptized with water; but ye shall be baptized with the Holy Ghost not many days hence. Acts 1:5

    Do you know that there are 98 references in the New Testament for the kingdom of Heaven? I encourage our readers to look them up and read the scripture.

    I acknowledge that I too have access at all times to heaven itself and the glories that are there in my Heavenly Father’s presence. He comforts me and convicts me of my sin. Just like you said, the same thing happens to me!! However, thank you for reminding me of the Word that tells me to come into the presence of God with boldness, with a true heart, and full assurance of faith and without wavering. Sometimes I don’t think I am worthy to be in His presence, but He allows me to be there any way. I don’t have to be perfect, I don’t have to go to a special building, I don’t have to report to an earthy authority to be in the presence of my Lord and Savior. I don’t have to do anything to be in His presence except be born again and baptized with the Holy Spirit. I need to believe in Him and His sacrifice on the cross. I need to believe that He took all our sins upon Him on the cross and He continues to take my sins the moment I confess to them to Him. I don’t have to be punished and or suffer for my sins, Jesus already did that. It has been such a release to come to this knowledge.

    Being raised in the LDS religion, I was taught that forgiveness is a process of suffering and compliance. In the Miracle of Forgiveness, by Spener W. Kimball, he says,

    “Eternal life hangs in the balance awaiting the works of men. This process toward eternal life is a matter of achieving perfection. Living all the commandments guarantees total forgiveness of sins and assures one of exaltation through the perfection which comes by complying with the formula the Lord gave us… Being perfect means to triumph over sin. This is a mandate from the Lord. He is just and wise and kind. He would never require anything from his children which was not for their benefit and which was not attainable. Perfection therefore is an achievable goal.” (p. 208)

    I am not perfect, yet I have attained the assurance that I will live with God for all eternity. I know that because I am already have admittance to the kingdom of Heaven – a personal relationship with my God.

    In Acts 3, Peter speaks of the things that are Christ after Peter healed the lame man. He states:

    “Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord;” Acts 3:19

    This is how the Bible tells us that we are assured of exaltation. To dwell in the presence of the Lord is to repent and be converted. Jesus paid the price for our sins, they are blotted out. We can gain access to the Holy of Holies. We can have a personal relationship with our Savior, through the blood of Christ.

    I pray for the people under bondage of the Mormon religion. I pray that God will remove the scales from their eyes so that they may see the loving grace that God gives. I pray that they may open their hearts to the blood of Christ that they, too, may have a personal relationship with God and enter into the kingdom of Heaven, on earth as it is in Heaven. I pray this In Jesus’ Holy name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

