Skip to content

Enemy of the Cross – New CD by Adam’s Road Band

June 22, 2010

I just ordered my free copy of the new Adam’s Road CD.  You can request a free copy too – info at this link.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 5:38 am

    Excellent. Thanks for sharing!

  2. faithoffathers permalink
    June 23, 2010 12:04 pm

    That photo and title is about as classless as it gets. It says more about those five young men than it does about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

  3. June 24, 2010 12:17 am

    I think it says a lot about how they personally feel about their experience as Mormon missionaries in the LDS church. I can’t speak to their experience because I have never been LDS or a Mormon missionary, but I respect how they feel about their experience and I respect that they are not ashamed to say exactly how they feel about it.

  4. faithoffathers permalink
    June 24, 2010 1:38 am

    Jessica,

    Do you respect those who deny that the holocaust ever happened? It is their honest opinion- do you also respect the fact that they also say “exactly how they feel about it?”

    I have watched the testimonies of these guys on youtube. I too served a mission and know literally thousands of others who did as well. The Adam’s Road version of being a mormon missionary is simply as false as I can imagine. You may not have had the experience of being a missionary for the church, but I can tell you that what these boys say is pure twisting and manipulation of truth. The whole missionary program- every manual, the entire MTC experience, every zone conference and district meeting is about bringing people to Christ.

    Listening to Adam’s Road, one would think mormons never even mention the Savior.

    I also find it sort of funny how so many LDS critics mock the testimony of mormons yet drool over the witness of these guys. In my opinion, theirs is as fluffy as any LDS testimony I have every heard, and independent of any objective “data or evidence” that is supposedly the bedrock of many EV folks.

    But hey- they sure have a nice tour bus.

  5. June 24, 2010 1:18 pm

    I don’t think that CD cover is any worse than this page from the current Doctrine & Covenants children’s manual, approved by the official Church Correlation Committee and sold wherever Distribution Centers are found.

    Personally, I find them both classless. But it’s “pot meet kettle” as far as I’m concerned.

  6. faithoffathers permalink
    June 24, 2010 3:30 pm

    Claiming that a people, despite believing in Christ, did not have the priesthood or the original gospel is a little different than marking somebody as an “enemy of the cross”- at least in my opinion. One is saying that people do not have all the truth, the other is saying that a people is anti-Christ.

    fof

  7. June 24, 2010 3:47 pm

    You can believe that if you want, FoF. Personally, I’m fed up with Mormons thinking they can teach that we’re “those called Christians,” dominated by pagan beliefs, don’t have the true gospel, don’t have the priesthood, aren’t part of the Church of Christ, don’t have valid baptisms or Eucharistic celebrations, don’t understand God’s love for us or the purpose of life, show their kids pictures of our ministers and our churches while they teach these things to illustrate who the bad churches are—and just so long as they throw in a few fluffy words about how we still believe in Jesus Christ in some sense, it’s all okay and they’re so much better than the evangelicals.

    What Adam’s Road is saying about Mormons is no different than what Mormons have been saying about other Christians for years. They’re just being more direct about it.

    I don’t really care for the kind of provocative tactics that Adam’s Road is using in their CD cover here. It’s not my thing. But until the LDS church cleans up what it teaches about us in its official, current, correlated manuals, I refuse to get up in arms about it. Those kinds of tactics deserve each other.

    (For the record, everything I cited above concerning what Mormons teach about other Christians comes from the 2009 Gospel Principles manual chapter 16, the D&C children’s manual, and well-known church policy. )

  8. June 24, 2010 4:31 pm

    BTW, “enemy of the cross” is from Philippians 3:18-19. It doesn’t denote the anti-Christ so much as sinners who are not saved.

    Mormons may not see that as better, but saying Mormons are enemies of the cross isn’t the same as saying the LDS church is the harlot riding the beast or something.

  9. NickyMac permalink
    June 25, 2010 7:10 am

    These boys are musicians. Singing and playing instruments is a way to express feelings or life experiences. As I understand, from their testimonies, these boys didn’t have a good experience in the LDS church (or on their missions) but coming out of it, they found much joy. It’s the biggest thing they’ve experienced in their life, so of course they’re going to sing about it.

    Regarding the cover art, I interpreted it as making reference to the ‘See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil’ proverb. The boys are basically saying that the LDS church have access to God’s word (the bible), and are doing things in His name, but are ignorant to the truth of it. It’s a powerful image that expresses their testimony. FoF I didn’t look at it and see it as this huge attack like you did. Or find it “provocative” like you did, Jack.

    If the prophets in the LDS church are truly “false prophets”, then the boys from Adam’s Road Band are just treating who they believe to be false as the apostles taught them to:
    * Judge with right judgement (John 7:24)
    * Test them and declare them to be false (Revelation 2:2)
    * Defend your belief (1 Peter 3:15)
    * Sharply rebuke those who have the truth, yet are confusing the gosepl (Titus 1:12-14)

    FoF, because you believe that the LDS church is true, you are offended by this, but as a Christian I believe that they are brave to stand up and be open like that. In this day and age, everyone is worried about offending anyone. I’m sure it’s not easy for them because they’d still have friends and family in the church, but at the same time they consider them to be lost… Pretty soon, more and more people are going to get offended by the gosepl and we won’t be able to publicly talk about it at all. I’m not looking forward to that day, but right now we still have freedom.

    I don’t know much about Adam’s Road Band but I read their testimonies and I was moved by them. I found myself thinking that if God could open the eyes of boys who were completely dedicated to the LDS church, then He can also open the eyes of my friend who is also a returned LDS missionary…

    I have a question though: are people only open to God when they hit rock bottom, or can God save someone who’s life is going ok?

  10. Ethan permalink
    June 26, 2010 3:34 am

    Ouch! Burn on the LDS missionaries, truly we are the Helen Keller’s of spiritual living!

    Seriously though, “Full House” wants their theme songs back guys. I thought EFY music was bad, the flippant cover may be the only redeeming part. I can imagine that poster on the walls of pre-teen evangelical bedrooms everywhere. Ign’rnt LDS boys posing under Roman execution equipment. so cool.

  11. June 26, 2010 6:19 am

    1 Corinthians 1:18 says it best.

    1Cr 1:18 For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.

    Main Entry: ig·no·rant
    Pronunciation: \ˈig-n(ə-)rənt\
    Function: adjective
    Date: 14th century
    1 a : destitute of knowledge or education ; also : lacking knowledge or comprehension of the thing specified b : resulting from or showing lack of knowledge or intelligence .

    Sorry Ethan your the ignorant one.

  12. June 26, 2010 1:37 pm

    I think Ethan has a point. I haven’t listened to their new album yet, but I listened to quite a few of the songs off of their last one, and I thought it was pretty mediocre. Not hateable, but definitely forgettable. If it weren’t for their unusual story of leaving Mormonism and the fact that one of them is the son of a tenured BYU professor who left her position to leave the church, I don’t think anyone would give them a second glance.

    Granted, I haven’t heard the new album, so maybe they have made improvements. But my thoughts last time around were that the #1 thing they could do to spread their message would be to write music that’s actually good.

    (If you’re wondering what I consider to be “good” as far as Christian music goes, Brandon Heath, Jars of Clay, Skillet, Caedmon’s Call, and Third Day are all favorites of mine. And Jennifer Knapp is still the muse of good music, even if she is lesbian and writing secular music now.)

    That said, I do think that they have stories worth telling, and I’m glad they’re getting them out there.

  13. Ethan permalink
    June 26, 2010 4:28 pm

    JM, what does the mandate “preaching of the cross” mean to you?

  14. Ethan permalink
    June 26, 2010 4:58 pm

    Personally, I have no problem with a Christian using any icon they want to remember Jesus. I’ve heard some Mormons take issue with the cross, but hey, if that’s what does it for you then I have no problem with it. I don’t believe the Bible says anything about not having an icon like the cross.

    For me, I find the cross imagery a little creepy and morbid. If my mother died in a horrible car crash the last thing I would wear is a crumpled Volkswagen necklace. I would probably wear a locket with her photo in it celebrating her life and resurrection. That’s the LDS mindset.

    I would define preaching the “cross” to be the significance of the mission of Jesus Christ, not the literal Roman execution method that was of no consequence. I suppose Jesus could have died any number of ways to save God’s children.

  15. June 26, 2010 5:27 pm

    When I see the cross it immediately brings to mind the suffering and death that purchased my pardon. There is an emotional connection in my heart and mind between the symbol of the cross and an immense feeling of gratitude that swells up within my soul and turns into praise & worship whenever I see the symbol of the cross.

    I think you are right, Ethan, that God could have chosen a different instrument for the death of Christ, but I can’t think of anything more symbolically connected to the sacrificial system of the old covenant (which prophetically foreshadowed his death and pointed ahead to the only perfect Lamb and only possible mediator between God and man), or the serpent that Moses lifted up in the wilderness so that all who looked up to it were healed (Numbers 21:5-9), or that specifically fulfills ancient prophecies that were given long before crucifixions were even invented (Psalm 22:16-18 “they pierced my hands and my feet, I may tell all my bones, they look and stare upon me, they part my garments among them, and cast lots upon my vesture”; Isaiah 53:5 “He was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities…and with His stripes we are healed”).

    The cross is special, beautiful, life-giving, inseparable from the Gospel, and indispensable to the Christian’s sanctification (Romans 6).

  16. June 26, 2010 8:15 pm

    For me, I find the cross imagery a little creepy and morbid. If my mother died in a horrible car crash the last thing I would wear is a crumpled Volkswagen necklace. I would probably wear a locket with her photo in it celebrating her life and resurrection. That’s the LDS mindset.

    That is the current LDS mindset. It just happens to reflect a terrible understanding of why Christians use crosses in their iconography and why Mormons no longer do (they used to).

    I would define preaching the “cross” to be the significance of the mission of Jesus Christ, not the literal Roman execution method that was of no consequence. I suppose Jesus could have died any number of ways to save God’s children.

    I’m curious. If Jesus had suffered in the Garden of Gethsemane, and then lived a full life and died of old age, would the atonement still have been completed? Or did Jesus have to be murdered in some way in order for the atonement to take effect?

  17. Ethan permalink
    June 27, 2010 2:03 am

    Jessica,
    We’re on the same page then. You prefer to use the crucifixion imagery to remember Jesus and that is fine, I have no problem with that. As Jack points out, the cross was even used unofficially in early Mormon worship.

    I still think the crucifixion is morbid and would prefer to focus on his resurrection rather than his death. Maybe we could all start wearing little empty garden tomb bracelets or something. Any enterprenuerial takers?

    Certainly Mormons should not be labeled “enemies of the cross” just because we choose not to dwell on the gore of his death. Besides, the cross was not an original icon in the ancient church but was used later. I saw a documentary about the “lost tomb of Jesus” and they discovered a very prominent symbol associated with the first century, the blade symbol (upside down V, or compass sign, with a circle underneath) that was marked all over Christian sites. Nobody knows what it meant but it was over the doorway in Jesus’ family tomb. See here:

    http://dsc.discovery.com/convergence/tomb/tomb.html

    Like I said, I have no problem if anyone uses the cross as a type of rosary beads for directing worship. Just give the Mormons some latitude, using the cross as an icon was never a requirement for salvation, that’s far to “works-ish” for this crowd. 🙂

  18. Ethan permalink
    June 27, 2010 2:05 am

    Jack,
    The death of Christ was necessary for salvation in LDS doctrine, even though we feel the Gethsemene ordeal has been vastly under-rated by main-streamers.

  19. June 27, 2010 3:23 am

    You can order an empty tomb necklace here, Ethan. 🙂

    Also, I’m not sure you were agreeing with that discovery documentary on the “lost tomb of Jesus,” but it has been completely debunked here:

    The Jesus Tomb Unmasked

  20. Ethan permalink
    June 27, 2010 4:11 am

    HAHA! Classic! There you go. I recommend we all start wearing those. My favorite scene in Passion of the Christ is easily the end where he strides out of the tomb. Powerful stuff. That’s where our focus should be really, not the cross per se. I won’t think any less of you if you choose to focus on the crucifixion in your imagery… The cross is magnificent, if not frightening.

    I don’t have any faith in the Discovery Channel. I believe in God’s unchanging method of calling prophets coupled with existing scripture, the only pattern visible throughout the bible, including after Jesus. But it is true that there is no evidence the cross was the symbol of the original church. It seems to be adopted as a later icon.

    Cheers!

  21. June 27, 2010 4:17 am

    Oh man! I linked to the wrong one. I found several. I actually like this one better:

    http://emptytombdesign.tripod.com/

  22. Ethan permalink
    June 27, 2010 4:58 am

    hey I like that one, that one’s cool. I could totally see that at Deseret Book next to the CTR rings! That makes me much happier than the cross (my wife won’t go into cathedrals in Europe because the crucifixes creep her out. We were in Rome last year and I seriously had to persuade her it was worth it.. She’s an empty tomb type.)

  23. June 27, 2010 6:28 am

    Ethan,

    The greatest gift anyone could give you, would be to give up there life to save your’s.
    Jesus gave up his on the cross so you and I could be saved.

    Jhn 1:29 The next day John seeth Jesus coming unto him, and saith, Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world.

    Hbr 10:9 Then said he, Lo, I come to do thy will, O God. He taketh away the first, that he may establish the second.
    Hbr 10:10 By the which will we are sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once [for all].
    Hbr 10:11 And every priest standeth daily ministering and offering oftentimes the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins:
    Hbr 10:12 But this man, after he had offered one sacrifice for sins for ever, sat down on the right hand of God;
    Hbr 10:13 From henceforth expecting till his enemies be made his footstool.
    Hbr 10:14 For by one offering he hath perfected for ever them that are sanctified.

    Yes the empty tomb and garden are important. But for my self the cross was the most important part of his mission.

  24. Ethan permalink
    June 27, 2010 7:39 am

    jm,
    I agree about the cross being vital. It does show God’s love for us. All those verses show the role the human sacrifice played.

    But I think Jesus himself would want us to focus on the fruits of his mission, not on what really for him was the horrific low point on that journey. If we are to honor Jesus then his life and resurrection are the focus, not his brutal death. The cross was pure horror and carnage, a devastating instrument in the salvation of mankind. Honoring this instrument of torture seems like misplaced focus, an endorsement of Roman cruelty.

    What if the Romans used a noose or an electric chair? I am sure you would feel uncomfortable worshipping an electric chair or having a noose sticker on your car. The fish is a much better Protestant icon.

    For me there is more peace in the living Christ than the dead Christ. That is why I cringe at the cross a bit. That is why the above CD cover is so offensive on many levels. If that is hard to understand then we should stop discussing it, because it cannot be made clearer. Any observers here will have to decide which view makes more sense to them.

  25. NickyMac permalink
    June 27, 2010 12:47 pm

    The Pastor of my church would say that he doesn’t like when people wear the cross flippantly as jewelry. I was taught that the cross was once the most humilitating form of punishment and that people would have considered having it displayed gross–much like having a swear word written on your forehead.

    Crusifiction isn’t really a part of our culture anymore, so it doesn’t carry the same offense, but it still needs to be taken seriously. The same as you must be geunine when taking communion–which is also a symbol (1 Corinthians 11:26-28).

    Just quickly, I heard something interesting about the history behind communion. Apparently, a man would leave his betrothed and go and build an extension off his parent’s house in preparation for her. He would have a meal with her and say “Do this in remembrance of me”, as in “I’m coming back for you.” We always seem to be focusing on sins and the cross during communion, but it’s also a celebration that Jesus is returning for His “bride”.

    Anyway, I was given a cross necklace by my mother on the day of my baptism and every time I put it on, my heart quickens because it reminds me of my baptism. Feelings of unworthiness mixed with feelings of gratitude. Mostly it’s a reminder, though, that I have dedicated my life to God. It’s me “taking up my cross”.

    Don’t forget, people, that the cross symbol is an empty cross (only catholics have one with Jesus on it). Hence, it represents how He is no longer dead.

    Also, I’d like to agree with Jack’s taste in music! I don’t think Adams Road Band are that great, musically, either. Especially not in comparison to, say, Relient K or Switchfoot. Casting Crowns would have to be my current favourite Christian band. But I, too, like Jars of Clay.

  26. June 28, 2010 5:44 am

    Ethan,

    With out Jesus’s death on the cross your sins would not be forgiven. The Romans did not choose the method of his death God did. Through out the whole bible he lets it be known, this was how he was going to die for the sins of man.

    Gen 3:15 And I will put enmity between thee and the woman, and between thy seed and her seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shalt bruise his heel.

    So the way I look at it God chose the cross. He saw it as a christian symbol just like he saw his death on the cross.
    As for the fish being a symbol for Christian’s. This is how it came about.

    An acrostic is a poem or other from of writing in which the first letter, syllable or word of each line, paragraph or other recurring feature in the text spells out a word or a message. As a form of constrained writing, an acrostic can be used as a mnemonic device to aid memory retrieval. A famous acrostic was made in Greek for the acclamation JESUS CHRIST, GOD’S SON, SAVIOUR (Greek: Ιησούς Χριστός, Θεού Υιός, Σωτήρ; Iesous CHristos, THeou Yios, Soter — ch and th being each one letter in Greek). The initials spell ICHTHYS (ΙΧΘΥΣ), Greek for fish – hence the frequent use of the fish as a symbol for Jesus Christ from the early days of Christianity to the present time.[1]

    How did he save us. By dieing on the cross for our sin’s.

    Jhn 1:29 The next day John seeth Jesus coming unto him, and saith, Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world.

    John did not say, Behold focus on the fruits of his mission.

  27. June 28, 2010 5:45 pm

    I have always found the Mormon aversion to the cross to be a little disturbing. So much of the message of salvation surrounds the cross that it is hard for me to imagine being “disgusted by it” the way that many Mormons appear to be. The sacrifice of the cross is what the entire Old Testament points forward to and Christ’s work on the Cross pervades the New Testament. Nevertheless, it is refreshing to see Ethan’s response, i.e., there is nothing wrong with Christians using the cross as a symbol – if you choose to wear it great. That is not at all typical in the LDS world today.

    Adam’s Road is giving a free concert here in Aug. My wife and I will try to attend it. As for great Contemporary Christian artists, I would have to say that Chris Tomlin is the best. I saw him in concert last year and it was amazing. His concerts are more giant worship services than anything else. His music points to one thing… the Savior.

    God Bless!

    Darrell

  28. Eric permalink
    July 16, 2010 9:37 pm

    All you guys that are simply critiquing the music are missing the point. It is not about the music, it is about the message. Paul was not a good orator, but you don’t see a bunch of fools going around critiquing him and comparing him to other speakers of the time. Jars of Clay and most other bands out there are not ministries, they are money making machines that are under a major label. What do they have in common with Adam’s Road? I pray Adam’s Road will never be like them. I don’t see Jars of Clay or any of the others cited playing concerts for free or giving away their music do you? Adam’s Road puts the Word of God to Music so that it can be heard by those that don’t typically take the time to read the Bible. You can hate the music, but I hope you will love the message. You are however close to being a house divided.

    I leave you with the words of Acts 5 “Therefore, in the present case I advise you: Leave these men alone! Let them go! For if their purpose or activity is of human origin, it will fail. 39But if it is from God, you will not be able to stop these men; you will only find yourselves fighting against God.”

    Peace be unto you all in the name of our Lord and Saviour Jesus the Christ.

  29. July 28, 2010 4:13 pm

    I believe the Adam’s Road message (that they found Mormonismto be a false christ and the Truth to be found in the Bible) will resonate with many Mormons now opening their eyes and ears to other perspectives mostly thanks to internet venues with civil discussions like this one. The band is in Utah each September. Watch for them on Shawn McCraney and Doris Hansen’s shows on TV 20 and at a local park or Christian Church. Definitely worth hearing their testimonies.

    1Cr 1:18 For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.

  30. rhea hernando permalink
    October 7, 2010 4:26 am

    Actually that is right LDS do talk about Christ they say that Jesus save us from our sins and that’s all his characteristic they use him for. They don’t realize is that Jesus is not just savior of the world he is the one and only way back to our Heavenly father by opening up your heart and your eye’s. I am not anti Mormon I am more anti religion cause it doesn’t matter what church you go to as long as you been born again and keep believing in Jesus Christ you will be save by grace not works. Amen

  31. David permalink
    October 11, 2010 3:15 pm

    For those of you who do not realize, Adam’s Road is not making a statement about Mormons in general, the Mormons are doing that on their own. Look at the picture. It is themselves that are dressed as missionaries, because they WERE missionaries. They are simply stating, as Paul did, that they once persecuted the true Church of God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, believing that they were doing it for God. Just as Paul looked back on his life as a Jew and recognized that he was fighting against God, so do these guys realize that they were going door to door, not preaching the cross of Christ but against it. Listen to the song “Enemy of the Cross.”

    As far as the music, I don’t know what you are talking about. These guys have more musical talent than most Christian bands I have ever heard. The orchestration, the vocal arrangements, the melodies. It is different from all the canned stuff out there like Jars of Clay and Third Day. Though I like those groups, they are nothing more than a product of the mainstream Christian machine in Nashville pumping out Christian fluff over and over. These guys speak the truth. These guys actually teach the Bible in their music. God bless you brothers for the work you are doing for God!

  32. Pastor in AZ permalink
    September 12, 2012 3:13 pm

    FOF,

    Mormons do mention the Savior. But they misrepresent the truth about him.

    EVERYBODY knows that Mormonism does this. Everybody, that is, except Mormons themselves. And, as long as you surround yourself with your own books, teachers and peers, you can continue to convince yourselves that everyone ELSE is wrong but you.

    LDS people are like those who, like those who deny the holocaust, fly in the face of mounds of evidence to the contrary, and continue to believe something that is historically aberrant and theologically inconsistent. When you talk about Adam’s Road’s testimonies about being a missionary false, are you willing to be that critical about the preposterousness of your own faith statements?

    More than that: You take my savior, who is King of kings, and Lord of lords, “very God of very God”, and reduce him to a man. Satan’s brother, no less. When you “bring people to Christ” or “mention the savior”, you’re bringing them to a false version of Jesus – one that, if your version was true, doesn’t even have the power to save.

    “Pure twisting and manipulation of truth.” Really? You’re going to go there?

    Praying that you will one day have eyes to see. Your “tour bus” is heading in the wrong direction. I don’t anticipate you’ll get off – but, hey, if a mixed-up Saul of Tarsus can encounter the true Jesus, we all can.

    Pastor in AZ

  33. christi permalink
    February 20, 2014 7:43 pm

    I went to the lds church for over 20 years. Adams road is wright about the Mormon church. I admire them in their courage. Mormons don’t worship the same God that is in the bible much less believe in what he taught. That’s why they say the Bible is full of mistakes. They teach things Jesus taught against. No matter the truth that may or may not be revealed, there will always be people blinded by the god of this world (Satan) and hard hearted people that need to open their eyes to the truth. God be with Adams road, their journey and where the Lord may have them go.

Leave a Reply

