Skip to content

I Love Mormons Welcomes New Guest Author!

August 28, 2009
by

Stephanie has been added as a guest author to I Love Mormons!

Welcome, Stephanie!  I look forward to your post! 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jubes permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:39 am

    Why scrutinize Mormonism? I don’t understand the rationale of spending so much time and energy trying to pick apart and/or disprove the doctrine of one faith, why not others? Certainly there are other Christian sects with whose doctrine you disagree…?

  2. August 28, 2009 11:18 pm

    Jubes,

    Good question. Speaking for myself, the reason I choose to witness to Mormons is because I believe there are eternal consequences for what one chooses to believe and follow and I believe Mormonism teaches people to follow a false God rather than the Biblical God. My wife and I were Mormon for many years and left Mormonism for Christianity; therefore, we have a special place in our heart for those lost in the web of Mormonism.

    Darrell

  3. August 29, 2009 2:54 am

    Hi Jubes,

    Thanks for stopping by and welcome to the conversation! It’s always great to hear more from the LDS perspective. There are a couple of reasons I have a special heart to talk to Mormons. 1) I live in an area with a high population of Mormons and I have a ton of extended relatives who are Mormon. 2) I personally believe Mormonism is wrong and that it has been proven wrong already so I’m not “trying” to disprove anything. I am trying to talk to Mormons about the reasons why we don’t see things the same way. I believe there are world view differences that affect how we interpret the same set of data. 3) Similar to what Darrell said above, I believe the differences between Mormonism and traditional Christianity have eternal consequences. 4) I believe God is currently leading Mormons out of the LDS organization and into His true Church which consists of multi-denominational followers of Jesus. I believe God is revealing to Mormons that they need to place their trust in Him alone – not a man-made organization and fallible, human leaders. I’m excited to see what God is going to do through Mormons who have the courage to give up everything to follow Jesus (Matthew 10:34-38).

  4. jubes permalink
    September 1, 2009 5:25 pm

    This helps me understand your point of view a bit more, that you believe all Christian denominations except Mormons are true followers of Christ. From my point of view we have far more in common than not, and I see absolutely no reason why we all aren’t followers of Christ. I believe that we are praying to the same God, the same loving Father in Heaven, and in the same name, and putting our faith in the same Savior and Redeemer who atoned for all of our sins. Jesus Christ is the center of the Mormon faith, not Joseph Smith, not Thomas S. Monson. These are leaders of the church whom we look to for guidance that comes from God, but they are not perfect, nor do we claim them to be. The Mormon church puts a huge emphasis on having a personal relationship with Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ, and our trust in them is paramount.
    In the end there are differences between all Christian denominations, and all of those discrepancies are essentially “man made.” But if the heart of the matter is a question of Mormons believing in and following Jesus Christ–the one and only Jesus Christ, we absolutely do. We are Christians, true followers of Christ, just like you.

  5. September 1, 2009 5:52 pm

    Hi Jubes,

    Thanks for coming back on and commenting. If you don’t mind, I would like to ask you a couple of questions so I can better understand where you are right now in your beliefs.

    Do you believe Jesus Christ is God?

    Thanks so much and have a great day!

    Darrell

Leave a Reply

