Skip to content

Worshiping Jesus

November 9, 2008

I had an awesome time at church today. The worship theme centered around God’s love and we sang “How Deep the Father’s Love For Us,” “How Can I Keep From Singing Your Praise?,” and one of my favorite hymns: “My Jesus, I Love Thee.”

I love to sing worship songs directly to Jesus. As one of the members of the Godhead, my Creator, and equal in attributes and deity with God the Father, He is worthy of my worship. I often picture myself kneeling before His throne in worship as, positionally, I am seated in the heavenly places with Christ (Eph. 2:6), and in spirit I can join together with the angels who are singing directly to Jesus, “Thou art worthy!” (Rev. 5:9). “Blessing, and honour, and glory, and power, be unto Him that sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb for ever and ever” (Rev. 5:13). My heart cries out with Thomas in calling Jesus, “My Lord and my God” (John 20:28).

On Mormon Matters, an LDS blogger (Nikki) explains why she is uncomfortable with some of the evangelical songs directed at Jesus. She says, “Generally speaking, when I talk about God, I’m referring to the Father, so I don’t think of Jesus as ‘my God’. I would prefer to call him ‘my Savior’.”

Former LDS apostle, Bruce R. McConkie, said, “We worship the Father and him only and no one else. We do not worship the Son, and we do not worship the Holy Ghost. I know perfectly well what the scriptures say about worshipping Christ and Jehovah, but they are speaking in an entirely different sense–the sense of standing in awe and being reverentially grateful to him who has redeemed us. Worship in the true and saving sense is reserved for God the first, the Creator” (BYU Devotional, March 2, 1982).

Jesus said, “All men should honour the Son, even as they honour the Father. He that honoureth not the Son honoureth not the Father which hath sent Him” (John 5:23)

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 8:47 pm

    Matthew 2:2 “Where is He who has been born King of the Jews? For we have seen His star in the East and have come to worship Him.”

    Matthew 2:11 “And when they had come into the house, they saw the young child with Mary His mother, and fell down and worshiped Him.”

    Matthew 14:33 “Then those who were in the boat came and worshiped Him, saying, Truly you are the Son of God.”

    Matthew 28:9 “And as they went to tell His disciples, behold, Jesus met them, saying, Rejoice! And they came and held Him by the feet and worshiped Him.”

    Matthew 28:17 “And when they saw Him, they worshiped Him; but some doubted.”

    John 9:38 “Then he said, ‘Lord, I believe!’ And he worshiped Him.”

    Hebrews 1:6 “But when He again brings the firstborn into the world, He says, “Let all the angels of God worship Him.”

    After Jesus’ ascension, “they worshipped Him” (Luke 24:52).

Leave a Reply

