Skip to content

Did Kirk Cameron Kiss Another Woman in Fireproof?

September 29, 2008

Kirk Cameron and wife Chelsea

I went to see the new movie, Fireproof, last night. Great movie with a clear gospel message! I was a little confused at the end when it appeared Kirk Cameron was kissing another woman besides his lovely wife of 17 years…

So I came home and googled the matter and was happily satisfied to learn there was some ‘movie magic‘ involved in the kissing scene so that it only appeared that he was kissing his co-star. Really, it was his wife playing a stunt-double! Just google “kirk cameron kissing” and you will find it being discussed all over the web. He refuses to kiss anyone but his wife.

Ahhh… that is very satisfying for a hopeless romantic like me who has never been kissed and hopes to only ever be kissed by my future husband (if God has one for me).

16 Comments leave one →
  1. lvberean permalink
    September 30, 2008 4:18 am

    I’ve seen Kirk Cameron in a couple of Christian movies. He’s also been on some Fox News Channel programs giving a witness for Christianity. He’s got my respect for that. I’m not familiar with this movie. I don’t go to the movies much. I normally just wait for the DVD. Kirk Cameron is a rarity when it comes to Hollywood actors if he refuses to kiss any other woman than his wife. That also is respectable. As a Christian, that would bother me too having to kiss another woman other than a woman that I was married to. I guess it’s a good thing that I am not an actor.

    Jessica, I read that last paragraph a few times. I’m having a hard time believing that. Between being a respectable, Christian woman and after seeing your photos on your homepage, I would think there would be a stampede of Christian men in your state lined up wanting to give you your first kiss.

  2. September 30, 2008 4:35 am

    Awww… Thanks, Berean. No stampede here though! Ah well…

  3. lvberean permalink
    September 30, 2008 5:03 am

    Heaven’s sakes…I just can’t believe it.

    God bless you for what you are doing for the Lord!

  4. katielangston permalink
    October 9, 2008 6:05 am

    Jessica,

    Where do you live? Maybe I could try and wrassle up a good Christian man to sweep you off your feet!! 😉

  5. October 11, 2008 5:24 pm

    Thanks for thinking of me, Katie 🙂 I replied to you already in an email because I don’t like to advertise my location for the whole world, but I’m not really worried about it. I believe Jesus is going to return very soon so I’m not focusing on looking for a man. The Bible makes it clear that it’s better to focus on the Lord’s work and not seek a husband (I Cor. 7). If the Lord has one for me, great, but I’m not worried about it. There is no marriage in heaven (Matt. 22:23-33).

  6. Rachel permalink
    November 9, 2008 4:53 am

    Ah, thank you! =) My husband I just saw the movie tonight. It was so moving and touching… I can’t count the times I cried! But I, too, was disturbed when I saw Kirk kiss another woman. When the movie went off, I turned to my husband and mentioned it to him and told him I didn’t think Kirk would do something like that, because in Left Behind (when he marries the woman), they don’t show him kissing her. So I assumed he wouldn’t kiss any other woman than his wife…so I was very surprised to see it in Fireproof. When I told my husband this, he said maybe they did something to make it LOOK like he was kissing the woman, but actually wasn’t. I said, “Hm. Maybe his wife stood in for the kissing scene!”

    Ha! Turns out I was right!

    I find it so refreshing and wonderful that Kirk Cameron would stay so true and faithful to his wife!

  7. jo oliver permalink
    March 13, 2009 6:44 pm

    Kirk cameron has spoken very badly about Mormons. He has called the faith a joke and Smith a fraud. I can not really understand how so much prasie would be given on a blog “i love mormons.” A little…no lot… odd.

  8. March 13, 2009 10:21 pm

    Oh Fireproof. Let me count the ways I hated that movie…

    1) Why do all these supposedly atheist & agnostic characters always have Christian music blaring in their cars?
    2) The dialogue and acting were so ham-fisted, Kirk Cameron might as well have just tied some hams onto his fists.
    3) The actress who played the wife can’t act and the character was so unlikable I found myself saying, “Sheesh, I’d divorce her, too!”
    4) Kirk Cameron can sometimes act, but he can’t play an angry irreligious husband. Sorry but he fails at it.
    5) Why do these evangelical movies always have to have preachy scenes where someone explicitly teaches the need to accept Jesus Christ as your personal Savior? I believe that’s important, but there is so much more to our religion than just that, and it does not need to be in every single movie we make. We don’t teach people the beauty and depth of our religion because we’re too concerned with trying to make quick and easy converts. Why can’t we just tell a story and let the message speak for the truthfulness of our religion without having to dumb it down for everyone?

    As for Kirk Cameron, I think he’s a charitable guy, his family is lovely, and I’m sure he means well. There was a time I would have adamantly defended him.

    But now? His preachy fire-and-brimstone style of sharing the gospel, his idiotic opinions on evolution and creation, the juvenile tactics he employs on his outreach Web sites (see this column by Eric D. Snider, “Eternal Reward: $10,000” for an example) are all an embarrassment to evangelical Christianity. The media loves inviting him to represent the evangelical viewpoint on talk shows because they know it makes us look awful.

    Oh and if he’s so hung up on having to kiss other women in his acting, sorry but he’s in the wrong profession and will probably never move past making mediocre, lukewarm Christian films. If my husband were an actor I’d have no problem with him kissing other women for his job. It’d be hard to tell passionate love stories in cinema without having actors who aren’t married to each other kiss one another, and to think the actors who do so are being unfaithful to their spouses is just ridiculous.

    BTW, Jessica, I do applaud you for being VL. I wish I’d had your fortitude when I was younger.

  9. luann dallas permalink
    March 28, 2009 3:27 am

    I truly enjoyed watching fireproof. To make the movie more realistic, I feel there was nothing wrong with Kirk Cameron kissing his portrayed wife on the movie. There was no foul language and the movie was made in good taste. It truly showed how one life can make an impact on other lives when one gives his life to Jesus Christ.

  10. March 28, 2009 6:32 am

    My husband is an actor and he kisses other women on stage sometimes. I’m okay with it. I used to be an actress, though, so…

  11. emily permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:41 pm

    I was just thinking the same thing about Kirk kissing other woman in the movie even though he will only kiss his wife. But i recently found out that at the end of the movie Kirk’s wife came and dressed up as the character so he was actually kissing his wife and not that actress that played his wife.

  12. April 9, 2009 4:43 am

    Kuddos to Kirk for kissing his wife instead of the actress… I know my husband would definately NOT like me kissing another man, actress or not. He is a die in the wool mormon and that would just not fly. 🙂

    I loved the movie! I cried, my husband loved it, and he is LDS.

    Great job, sherwood films!!!

    Gloria

  13. Aline permalink
    April 19, 2009 5:50 am

    Hello all…
    Speaking from Brasil, I’ve watched the movie and I boughted the DVD… In the Special Features they show that hi’s wife is the one hi kisses in the end (as Catherine)
    🙂

  14. Judith Shipstad permalink
    April 29, 2010 1:59 am

    If I were Cameron’s female co-star, I’d be terminally insulted.

  15. Mary permalink
    January 1, 2012 8:12 am

    i think the movie was good. the acting may not be GREAT but there are so few Christian movies that just having a decent one is good to me. i didn’t find it too preachy.

  16. May 18, 2013 4:05 am

    love love this movie…going 2 the restroom and going 2 watch it again…this movie just enhanced my faith, God is always on time…

Leave a Reply

