Skip to content

Evidences that Convinced an Atheist to Believe in Jesus Christ

September 23, 2008

Former atheist, Lee Strobel, spent a year and and 9 months doing investigative research before coming to the conclusion that the evidence-scale tips to the side of the Bible truly being the Word of God, Jesus Christ being the Son of God who fulfilled the OT Messianic prophecies, died for our sins, and was resurrected. I have decided to post some short videos that highlight some of the compelling evidences that resulted in his conversion to Christianity.

What I love about Strobel is that he didn’t allow his biases against Christianity to prevent him from examining the evidence with an open mind. It’s plain from many of the atheist sites on the internet that many who are claiming to be “truth-seekers” haven’t really done very much in-depth investigating before forming their opinions.

Lee Strobel’s Testimony

The Case for Christ from Archeological and Historical Records

The Case For Christ From Early Recorded Accounts

More Evidence from History: The Records of Ignatius

I think Ignatius is compelling evidence outside the Bible because he knew the apostles who were eye-witnesses to the life of Jesus Christ.

I know that I am personally impacted by eye-witness accounts that are told to me by those that I trust and respect. For example, my mom relayed a story to me about a family friend whose leg had been miraculously healed. Because my mom has always been honest and trustworthy, I believed her account of what she saw even though I did not personally see the healed leg myself. I believe it happened because my mom saw it and I believe my mom.

One of the common atheist objections to Christianity is, how can a loving God send people to hell? Strobel shares on the following video clip why the doctrine of hell is not so inconceivable as it once was to him:

How Can A Loving God Send People to Hell?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cstrupp permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:17 am

    awesome blog

    http://cstrupp.wordpress.com/

  2. gortimer permalink
    September 25, 2008 12:33 am

    These videos and arguments just are not persuasive.

    In video 1 he says his wife found Jesus and the quality of her life improved, so it must have some validity. Well, when my daughter lost her first tooth, she was very upset. Then I told her about the Tooth Fairy and she was greatly encouraged and she felt much better. Feeling good about something and because of something does not make something true.

    In video 2 he says the books of the bible are more likely true because they mention people’s flaws. If they were whitewashing they would have hidden the flaws. When I turn to Zeus, I see no whitewashing. His flaws are told boldly in tall tales, that does not make them all the more likely to be true.

    I can’t bring myself to watch any more of them.

  3. September 25, 2008 3:56 am

    Thanks for your comment, cstrupp! I’m glad you liked the blog. BTW, you have some really great photos on your blog!

    gortimer,

    I certainly agree with you that “Feeling good about something and because of something does not make something true.” I hope you don’t think that was what Strobel was saying. What I got out of his testimony was that after a year and 9 months of intensive investigative research he concluded that the evidences for Christianity far outweighed what appeared to be evidences against it.

    I really hope you continue in your search for truth and that you won’t be quickly turned off after cursory glances at other perspectives. One thing I admire about Strobel was his decision to set aside his biases to thoroughly examine and weigh the evidences…I hope you will do the same.

Leave a Reply

